Nice try Mr. Harper, nice try.To have your minions fire the first "real" shots in denying Canada decent and REQUIRED gun control laws, while you hide from Parliament, is a brilliant move (for a Conservative). Your party has long been the champions of the NRA (National Rifle Association in the USA) and guns, guns, everywhere.
You have for years rejected scientific research and common sense. You have rejected for years the evidence provided by the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police. You have rejected statistics which show an overall resounding drop in crime levels of all types. Yes, Mr. Harper, you've been able to BS the voters and media into thinking (at least some of them) that the registry doesn't help the police. Evidence shows otherwise. The RCMP and other police forces use the registry 100s of thousands of times a year (I believe the actual number is in the millions of "hits"). It saves officers' lives when they know what weapons are in a home when they are investigating an issue. You know, "support the troops" and all that crap you so fakely suggest... You don't want to stand by the police? How are they supposed to do their jobs? How can they keep people safe.
We know the Canada you want. You said it yourself a few years ago... that when you're done, we wouldn't even recognize it. You want guns available to everyone... cheap. You want legalized assault rifles and semi-autos (your last bill to break the registry said as much)...
Mexico recognizes the challenge - even when Canada doesn't: The US is the world's biggest producer and exporter of weapons. They don't care who they sell to: contras in Nicaragua, rebels in Columbia and Venezuela, druglords in Columbia and Afghanistan, gangsters in Quebec and BC. The problem is gun control. You can say many of the guns used in crime are stolen, but that just passes the problem along. That simply means that the ones who improperly store guns should be culpable. Many of the weapons are smuggled in from the US due to their lax gun laws. They even sell to minor, un-licensed Canadians - no questions asked. Mexico recently has shown public outrage at the US gun problem and the war-like situation it is creating along the border. That problem is slipping across to the US side, and finally SOME American law-makers are starting to think about gun control.
Canadians are dying in the streets (although at levels far below the murder rates of decades ago), and all you can do is "stand up" for the tools used to kill them?
Your "end-run" around The House of Commons is an interesting tactic. It still, however, doesn't change the fact that you are a supporter of the gun nuts. Your outcry against the registry was there LONG before it was shown there were some problems with cost estimates. You opposed the registry, NOT for the overruns, but because you are PART of the gun lobby... the NRA led gun lobby.
I'm posting most of the pertinent parts of the CBC story here. Once again, gamesmanship trumps concern for the public from the Conservatives and Harper;
Change in strategy for Tories
Moreover, Wednesday's proposed bill marks a change in strategy for the Harper government.
Strong opposition to Bill C-301
Breitkreuz's bill is scheduled to be debated in the House of Commons beginning May 4.